The MOOD
The MOOD About Discography Concerts

About


Marat Karapetyan

Tigran Tuneev

Slava Vinogradov

Dmitri Marasanov

Denis Odud





Press release

Press

Gallery
Exclusively In The Mood

It seemed that the sinister remarks made by the great musicians of the 70-ies that ‘the rock-and-roll’s dead for ever’ seemed to be coming true early in the 21st century. The phenomenally gifted Russian writer V. Pelevin in his novel ‘Generation P’ excitingly and explicitly portrays the mind-set of the people locked in common dogmas that are being developed in the global community and communicated to the individuals through mass media. And it’s even more surprising that it’s not far overseas but in our home town of Tver where for the past 10 years the R&B band The Mood (so far an obscure name to most people) has been playing, progressing and surprisingly thriving.

Started in 1991 The Mood under the firm and often tough guidance of its all-time leader Marat Karapetyan (vocals, guitar) has been doing extremely well thanks to its steady allegiance to their music values and meticulous and I would say zealous preparations for the solo concerts that count in the hundreds. By uncompromisingly playing pshychodelic R&B (something half way between Jimmy Hendrix and Led Zeppelin) that, in all honesty, does not have much appeal in Russia, The Mood still could find and retain its audience. The entrancing and “ragged” voice of the solo guitar manned by Tigran Tuneev is miraculously in tune with the fatigue-resistant rhythm section manned by the solid-as-a-rock bass Marat Karapetyan and frantic drummer Sergei Stukov who crushes the ‘lethargic’ sleep of the modern times. And if added Armen Karapetyan’s unconventional and somewhat “howling” psychodelic vocal you’ll get The Mood of the 2003 vintage.
This was the line-up that performed at this year’s Mai Woche festival in Osnabruck (Germany) to which The Mood fought its way without the sponsors, promotion or references but with its first solo album (‘Waiting for the Train’) and huge love for music. The 10-day festival was attended by more than 150 bands from all over the world and as has always been the case The Mood being the sole representative of Tver and the entire Russia not just gave three successful concerts but moved to invite to Tver the star R&B band ‘Ritchie & Bluenatics’ from Germany whose ‘knock-out’ performances came to thrill The Mood as connoisseurs of R&B.
The ‘Ritchie & Bluenatics’ play blues and rock-and-roll. They developed a unique style of their own that is a combination of blues (the main ingredient), latino, jazz and funk. In the past 8 years the band has given more than 400 concerts all over Germany and in Europe. It released two CDs: the debut album ‘All Kinds of Blues’ (August 1997) and ‘Live in Colosseum’ (2000). The albums boast of both classic pieces (from Guitar Slim to Jimmy Hendrix) and quite a few self-composed pieces of modern blues style; the Bluenatics further add to their unique style that meshes together the ‘dirty’ blues, fine jazz and ‘piercing’ latino and New-Orlean tunes. According to Marat Karapetyan the ‘Ritchie & Bluenatics’ were beyond compare at the Mai Woche festival. ‘With his unique playing manner Ritchie Arndt (lead guitar) was so reminiscent of the late greatest Steve Ray Voen that it was really taking your breath away’ – supports Marat Tigran Tuneev.
Despite all, The Mood made the impossible – the ‘Ritchie and Bluentics’ are coming to Russia on August 28 and on August 30 an unprecedented 5-hour concert (with almost free attendance as the tickets will be priced at paltry 50 rubles) will start at 6 p.m. in the City Park (‘On the Boards’). At the concert The Mood/ Ritchie and Bluenatics will join to get us in the good mood and please us with their bright and unpredictable performance, bringing joy to the streets of our wonderful town. The Mood/ Ritchie and Bluenatics will close the concert with their favorite piece ‘Knocking on the Heavens Door. Shall we knock together?

Eugene Hendrixoff

The Tver Chronicle

August 23, 2003

 
Copyright 2004

Designed, developed & provided by Stolpnikoff
write a letter ðóññêèé

The MOOD
The MOOD About Discography Concerts

About


Марат Карапетян

Тигран Туниев

Слава Виноградов

Дмитрий Марасанов

Денис Одуд





Пресс-релиз

Пресса о группе

Галерея
23-08-03  Газета «Вече Твери»

Исключительно Свое Настроение

В начале 21 века, похоже, стали сбываться зловещие фразы великих музыкантов 70х о том, что рок мертв и ничего нового в рок-музыке просто не может быть рождено. Удивительно-талантливый русский писатель В. Пелевин в своем романе «Поколение П» интересно и понятно объясняет феномен психики людей, порабощенных общими установками, которые формируются современным глобальным обществом и транслируются на людей через СМИ. И не может не вызывать удивления когда не где-то далеко за морями, а у нас в нашей родной Твери на протяжении последних 10 лет играет, растет и, что удивительно, добивается творческих результатов многим до сих пор неизвестная ритм-энд-блюзовая группа The Mood.
Созданные в 1991 г. The Mood под твердым, зачастую даже жестким руководством своего бессменного лидера Марата Карапетяна (вокал, ритм-гитара) добивается поразительных результатов, причиной которых является приверженность своим музыкальным взглядам и ответственное, я бы даже сказал трепетное отношение, к подготовке сольных концертов, которых на счету The Mood уже более 100. Бескомпромиссно играя, скажем откровенно, не слишком популярный в России жесткий ритм-энд-блюз с элементами психоделики, где-то между стилем Джимми Хендрикса и Led Zeppellin, The Mood, тем не менее смогли найти и завоевать своего слушателя. Упоительно-поющая и в то же время «рваная» соло-гитара лидер-гитариста The Mood Тиграна Туниева удивительно связана с не ведающей усталости ритм-секцией группы, в составе которой трудятся надежный как «скала» бас-мэн команды Армен Карапетян и разбивающий «летаргический» сон современности неистовый барабанщик The Mood Сергей Стуков. Если наложить на все это яркий нестандартный, где-то даже «воющий» психоделик-вокал Марата Карапетяна мы получаем The Mood образца 2003 года.
Именно в таком виде и предстали The Mood в этом году на немецком фестивале "Майвохэ" в г. Оснабрюк (Германия), куда они пробились совершенно независимо не имея ни спонсоров, ни промоушна, ни рекомендательных писем – лишь первый сольный альбом «Waiting for the train» и огромную любовь к музыке. И как всегда они не только с успехом сыграли там три концерта, представляя в единственном числе не только г.Тверь, но и Россию вообще (на 10 дневном фестивале выступало более 150 групп со всего мира), но и выступили с собственной инициативой и пригласили в Тверь звезд немецкого ритм-энд-блюза – группу Richie and Bluenatics, которые своими забойными выступлениями восхитили даже искушенных в блюзе The Mood.
Группа Ritchie and Bluenatics играет блюз и рок-н-ролл. Они развили собственный неповторимый стиль, который, основываясь на базе блюза, включает в себя элементы Латинос, Джаза, Фанка. На протяжении 8 лет группа выступила с более чем 400 концертами по всей Германии и Европе. Группой было выпущено 2 компакт диска: в Августе 1997 года дебютный альбом All Kinds of Blues, и в 2000 году альбом Live in Colosseum. На их альбомах наряду с классиками блюза от Guitar Slim до Jimi Hendrix представлены и многочисленные собственные композиции в современной блюзовой стилистике, в которой Блюнатики и дальше развивают свой собственный неповторимый стиль из сплава «грязного» блюза, джазового изящества и «пробивающих» латинских и нью-орлеанских ритмов. По словам М. Карапетяна, данная группа была вне конкуренции на фестивале Майвохе. Удивительная манера игры гитариста Ritchie and Bluenatic Ритчи Арндта зачастую так напоминает манеру игры ныне покойного величайшего гитариста Стива Рэй Воэна, что просто таки захватывало дух, подтверждает его слова Т.Туниев.
Несмотря ни на что, The Mood опять сделали невозможное - Ritchie and Bluenatis 28 августа приезжают в Россию, и 30 августа в 18.00 в Городском Саду на «Досках» стартует беспрецедентный 5-ти часовой концерт (кстати «почти» бесплатный - билет будет стоить, как заверяют The Mood, 50 рублей), в котором The Mood и Ritchie and Bluenatics будут вместе создавать наше радостное настроение, удивлять нас своей яркой, непредсказуемой игрой, на радость нашему прекрасному городу. The Mood и Ritchie and Bluenatics в конце концерта исполнят свою любимую песню «Достучаться до небес» (Knocking on the heavens door). Достучимся вместе с ними?

Евгений Хендриков



 
Copyright 2004

Designed, developed & provided by Stolpnikoff
Написать письмо English